Tonnage reporting applies to all registrants and or distributors of commercial feeds, sold or distributed, into or within the state of New Mexico. A tonnage fee of .15¢ per ton applies to all commercial feeds, packaged or bulk, distributed in quantities of ten pounds or greater.
Tonnage forms are provided by the New Mexico Department of Agriculture/Feed, Seed & Fertilizer Section and are mailed to recipients approximately one week before the close of the quarter. Tonnage forms submitted before the close of the quarter will not be accepted even if tonnage reported is “0”.
Tonnage reporting in New Mexico is filed quarterly, based on a calendar year, and reports are due no later than the last day of January, April, July and October of each year for the preceding calendar quarter. Any reports filed after the due date are assessed a late fee of twenty percent (20%) of the tonnage fee due, or ten dollars ($10), whichever is greater.
Tonnage Reporting FAQ’s
Commercial feed tonnage reports and fees are due quarterly for all feed products sold or distributed in or into New Mexico either in bulk or in packages of ten pounds or greater.
The inspection fee is fifteen cents (.15¢) per ton for bulk products and those distributed in packages greater than ten pounds and are due no later than the last day of January, April, July and October of each year for the preceding calendar quarter.
Penalties: Any reports filed after the due date are accessed a late fee of twenty percent (20%) of the tonnage fee due, but not less than ten dollars ($10) in addition to the tonnage fee due even if reporting “0”.
Minimums: New Mexico currently has no minimum for fees due.
Who Must Report?
Registrants – person or company offering commercial feed for sale, sell or barter within the state of New Mexico.
Distributors – means any person who distributes
When more than one person is involved in the distribution of commercial feed, the person who distributes to the consumer is responsible for reporting the tonnage and paying the inspection fee unless the report and payment have been made by a prior distributor of the feed. (In a nut-shell: The last person distributing commercial feed into or within New Mexico.)
The registrant is ultimately responsible for reporting tonnage and remitting inspection fees unless passed-on to another registrant or distributor by a contractual or verbal agreement.
Commercial feeds being distributed into and within the state of New Mexico by more than one party, and have not been reported for tonnage fees, will be STOP-SALED until a resolution is made with the New Mexico Department of Agriculture/Feed, Seed & Fertilizer Section.
When commercial feeds are registered and are subject to tonnage reporting, it is the responsibility of the registrant to notify this office who will be reporting tonnage.
A tonnage report must be filled by the given deadlines even if “0” tons were distributed within the reporting period.
Failure to Submit Tonnage Reports:
In addition to late fees, product registrations are subject to cancellation or denial until the delinquent or missing tonnage reports have been submitted, and all fees and late fees have been paid. In addition a “STOP-SALE” may be issued for all of the company’s products.