Soil and Water Conservation Districts

The Rio Grande is the largest river in Las Cruces and is a huge water resource for all of New Mexico

Introduction to conservation districts (SWCDs) in New Mexico; links to laws and regulations, FAQs, and handbooks.

SWCDs are independent subdivisions of state government, governed by boards of supervisors, local landowners and residents elected or appointed.  SWCDs authorized by the Soil and Water Conservation District Act  (73-20-25 through 73-20-48 NMSA 1978 ).  The SWCD Act authorizes SWCDs to conserve and develop the natural resources of the state, provide for flood control.  It also  preserves wildlife, protects the tax base and promotes the health, safety and general welfare of the people of New Mexico.  SWCDs coordinate assistance from all available sources–public and private, local, state and federal–in an effort to develop locally-driven solutions to natural resource concerns. Forty-seven SWCDs encompass the majority of New Mexico’s land area.

Soil and Water Conservation District Act Annotated

SWCD Map with Regions

References and Resources for SWCD Supervisors and Staff

New Mexico Soil and Water Conservation Commission (SWCC)

The SWCC shall be composed of seven appointed members and five ex-officio members.  The seven members of the SWCC are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the governor.  Six of the members are district supervisors, one representing each of the six regions designated by NMDA.  The seventh member is selected to serve at large.  There are five ex-officio members. The first is the governor or his designee.  The second is associate director of cooperative extension service of NMSU or his designee.  The third is the associate director of the agriculture experiment station of NMSU or his designee.  The fourth is the state conservationist of NRCS of the USDA or his designee.  The fifth is the president of NMACD or his designee. The ex-officio members shall serve without vote.

The SWCC may promulgate rules to carry out the Soil and Water Conservation District Act. It also advises NMDA on any matter that affects soil and water conservation and the SWCDs.  The SWCC approves the point system spreadsheet for funding distribution. The SWCC also awards annual grants for water quality and conservation projects through the request for proposal (RFP) process.

SWCC agendas and approved minutes

SWCC Public Comment Policy Statement

Watershed Districts

Watershed Districts are formed for the purpose of conservation of water or of water usage.  This includes  water-based recreation, flood prevention, flood control, erosion prevention and control of erosion, and floodwater and sediment damages.  The land area in watershed districts must be contiguous and lie within a well-defined watershed area or subwatershed areas. They may embrace lands lying in one or more SWCDs, and may embrace lands lying partly within and partly outside an SWCD.  There are seven active watershed districts in New Mexico.

Watershed District Act