Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Introduction to conservation districts (SWCDs) in New Mexico; links to laws and regulations, FAQs, and handbooks.

Soil and water conservation districts are independent subdivisions of state government governed by boards of supervisors, local landowners and residents elected or appointed to the board for a four year term.  A soil and water conservation district (SWCD) is authorized by the Soil and Water Conservation District Act (73-20-25 through 73-20-48 NMSA 1978 ) to conserve and develop the natural resources of the state, provide for flood control, preserve wildlife, protect the tax base and promote the health, safety and general welfare of the people of New Mexico. SWCDs coordinate assistance from all available sources — public and private, local, state and federal — in an effort to develop locally-driven solutions to local natural resource concerns. Forty-seven SWCDs encompass the majority of New Mexico’s land area.

Soil and Water Conservation District Act

District Map With Regions 2013

References and Resources for SWCD Supervisors and Staff

Watershed Districts are formed for the purpose of conservation of water, or of water usage, including water-based recreation, flood prevention, flood control, erosion prevention and control of erosion, and floodwater and sediment damages.  The land area in a watershed district must be contiguous and must lie within a well-defined watershed area or subwatershed areas; and may embrace lands lying in one or more soil and water conservation districts, or lands lying partly within and partly outside a soil and water conservation district.  There are seven active watershed districts in New Mexico.

Watershed District Act

The boundaries of the SWCDs were recently mapped in GIS and are available in PDF format as well as a data file for GIS use.  Contact the department if you are interested in obtaining the files.

Print This Page Print This Page